Shared Content (Beta)
Role: Site Administrator
Shared Content allows you to import pages from other Fresco sites into your own Fresco site. This imported/shared content will dynamically update on your site as it is actively synched with the site the content is sourced from.
Permissions
Shared content is federated on a permissions basiss.
To Grant Access
You are in complete control of which sites can import your sites content.
- Navigate to Content > Shared Content > Approved consumers
- From there, Navigate to the Site shortcode field .
- From here you can enter the shortcode and if applicable, additional custom domain(s) for the site you wish to share content with
- Click Add consumer
To Gain Access
Provided your desired content source has listed you as an Approved consumer, you can add that site to your list of Content sources.
- Navigate to Content > Shared Content > Content sources
- From here you can enter the site shortcode of your desired content source
- Click Add consumer
- Your site must be listed as an Approved consumer on your desired content source to import content
Shortcodes
- The shortcode entered in the Site shortcode field must be the sites platform domain shortcode (prefix to .site)
- A sites shortcode will be what is present before the '.site' of the sites domain.
- For example: frescohelp.site.ox.ac.uk has a shortcode of frescohelp
- You may also provide the shortcode of a custom domain in the Site shortcode field.
- For example: oxfordgreenestate.ox.ac.uk has a shortcode of oxfordgreenestate
Importing
Once a site is in your list of Content sources you can browse a list of pages they have opened to sharing.
- Navigate to Content > Shared Content > Browse & import
- Click '- Select a source -'
- Within the drop down menu you will see a list of all your Content sources
- Select your Content source
- Click' - Select a channel -'
- Select the content type you wish to import:
- Articles
- Events
- Locations
- Pages
- People
- Check the box (left-hand side) for page(s) you wish to import
- Click Import selected
Note: you will not be able to edit imported content unless it is Detached from your site.
Managing Imported Content
Under Shared content you can manage pages you have imported via Content > Shared content > Imported content
This menu will inform you of the sites Sync status (when it was last refreshed and matched up to it's source). Should you expiereince any contradicitons between the an imported page on the sites source and waht is imported, it is always advisable to first consult the Last refresehd (the date and time your site established an up-to-date connection with the source) and Source last updated.
You can further manually Re-sync pages that you believe to be out of date by selecting pages in the Imported content menu and clicking the Re-sync selected
Detaching and Deleting
Should you wish to delete imported content form your site, you may also manage this from the Imported content menu:
- Detach selected from source: this severs the connection between your site and it's source, preventing future synchs. However, the site remains on your site and further allows you to locally edit the page.
- Delete selected from site: this will both sever the link between your site and it's source, preventing future synchs and delete the page from your site.
Marking a page as Shared Content
For a page to be eligible for sharing, it must be marked as Shared Content. To do this:
- Begin editing the page you wish to share
- Within the editor UI (right-hand side) scroll down and locate the Listing setup menu.
- Flip the toggle to Share this contentt
- This will allow your Approved consumers to import this page, should they wish
Changes may have been made to enhance this feature since we last updated this page. See What’s new for the latest release information.
Last updated: 11 September 2026